Hot!

Standard

It’s so hot today. I’ve had a ton of stuff to do, but I just had to do this post on TMV. It sort of relates to the theme of the Big Belch too. Or at least I think so. Stay cool.

Hot Topic

I’ve been hearing news reports about the heat wave in the eastern states and the enormous suffering people are going through without electricity from the storms that hit the area a week ago. Can you imagine? Day after day with no air-conditioning, no lights, being roasted by unending heat. I just have to say: Geez Louise, why aren’t people getting off the grid in droves now if they possibly can?

The technology is there to do it. Heck, in hot weather, with certain currently available home solar equipment, you could even make money from power companies while you’re sitting in lovely coolness!

And you know these blackouts will happen again and again and again, whether it’s caused by summer thunderstorms, ice storms taking down lines in the winter, too much draw on the grid, some tiny foul up that takes out the whole Eastern Seaboard. I believe I remember that a squirrel accidently touching a transformer did that once years ago.

It’s happened before. It will happen again. People say the only sure things in life are death and taxes. Well, I beg to differ. One has to add power outages.

And that doesn’t even take into consideration terrorism!

I tell you, if I were able to, I’d spend just about anything to get off the grid — at least to the extent of keeping my AC and frig operating no matter what — rather than subject myself to the horror folks are going through in Virginia right now.

http://themoderatevoice.com/152100/hot-topic/

PS – It’s been thing after thing to do Right Away! that I haven’t even looked at the Big Belch since my last post. Phooey.

3 responses »

  1. Hiya, I am new to running a blog and websites in general and was curious about how you got the
    “www” included in your domain name? I see your domain name,
    “https://thebigbelch.wordpress.com/2012/07/07/hot/” has the www
    and my domain looks like, “http://mydomain.com”.

    Do you know the best way I can change this? I’m using WordPress. With thanks

  2. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this website with us so I came to take
    a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Exceptional blog and superb style and design.

  3. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog provided us
    beneficial information to work on. You have done a wonderful
    job!

Leave a Reply

