Observation

Standard

Recently I was asked how I learned to draw. For me it’s been all observation and practice. If one can, going to life drawing classes is great, but that’s not always possible. Besides studying anatomy books, my approach is to periodically look at the people around me trying to really see them. I kind of pick something – say an ear – and observe how it fits to the skull. It’s surprising the amount of variation there is in that one small detail. After groking as much as I can, the rest is inspiration. And that is a whole other complex and idiosyncratic subject.

Just a warning if you want to try doing this type of observation – it’s a bit tricky. When one is in public, it’s best to be careful. You don’t want to make the person being observed uncomfortable. A laser like stare will make anyone nervous. Or lead to some unpleasantness. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

